July 24, 2024


Health is important

AHCJ announces new board members for 2022-23

Laura Beil                                    Randy Dotinga                                     Deborah Schoch

COLUMBIA, Mo. — Freelance Journalists Laura Beil,  Randy Dotinga, and Deborah Schoch have been elected and will be part of a few incumbents on the Affiliation of Wellness Treatment Journalists’ 2022-23 board of administrators.

Beil, a Texas-based mostly journalist with far more than 20 yrs of encounter in wellness and science producing, has previously been published in ProPublica, Texas Monthly, the New York Periods and Science News. She gained the 2018 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Clinical Science Reporting from the Council for the Improvement of Science Composing (CASW).

Dotinga, a California-centered journalist, has been a freelance reporter for additional than 20 many years, with work appearing in the Washington Write-up, MedPage Currently, and the Christian Science Check. The longtime advocate for journalists has served as president of the American Society of Journalists & Authors from 2014-2016, as very well as the NLGJA: The Affiliation of LGBTQ Journalists board of administrators for eight years.

Schoch, a California-centered journalist, expended 18 years with the Los Angeles Instances just before signing up for the USC-based Centre for Health Reporting. Schoch now will work as a freelance reporter with retailers such as the New York Periods and AARP to report on overall health challenges in communities across the region. She has shared in two Pulitzer Prizes and won a Nieman Fellowship at Harvard to study science and legislation.

Collectively, the a few new board customers have additional than 50 years’ encounter as AHCJ users.

Incumbents commencing a new term involve Carrie Feibel, NPR’s Science Desk Joyce Frieden, International Professional medical Information Group and MedPage Right now and Sabriya Rice, Kaiser Wellbeing Information.

The board members be part of people elected very last yr for two-yr terms: Christine Herman, well being reporter at Illinois General public Media Sebastián Martínez Valdivia, general public wellness reporter at KBIA and adjunct teacher at the Missouri University of Journalism Marlene Harris-Taylor, managing producer at NPR/PBS affiliate ideastream Jeanne Erdmann, a Missouri-based mostly freelancer Felice Freyer, health and fitness reporter at The Boston World and Gideon Gil, handling editor at STAT.

Officers will continue to be in their present-day positions until eventually Oct 1 when a new slate will be elected.

The Affiliation of Overall health Treatment Journalists is an impartial, nonprofit organization committed to advancing general public understanding of wellbeing treatment troubles. Its mission is to improve the high quality, precision and visibility of wellness care reporting, composing and modifying. It is a community of about 1,500 folks committed to the greatest requirements of reporting, writing, editing, and broadcasting in health and fitness care journalism for the normal general public and trade publications. The Affiliation hosts a useful resource-laden website, provides a lot of fellowships for journalists, conducts education to support journalists increase and advance their protection and advocates for the free of charge movement of info to the public. AHCJ is housed at the Missouri School of Journalism.